Follow this blog to be advised of new material being added to the Time Travellers website. See below right.

Friday, 2 June 2017

Possible Essendon Cricket team, circa 1886 - or not....

Photo courtesy of Kerryn Taylor, AncestorChasing. .

The above photo has kindly been shared by Kerryn Taylor, whose relatives were the Morgans who ran the Cross Keys Hotel in Essendon for some years.

The player second from the left in the back row is Alexander Morgan, Alexander Morgan left Essendon in 1886, aged 24, for Wellington, New Zealand, where he spent the rest of his life.  The photo could therefore have been taken in Essendon or Wellington, New Zealand, we aren't too sure.  If anyone can identify the team or any other players, that would be very helpful indeed.   A larger view of this photo can be seen on the Time Travellers website.

Saturday, 20 May 2017

Another view of "Belmiers"

Another view of "Belmiers" on the corner of Lorraine and Buckley Streets has turned up.    It has been added to the Time Travellers website.  Courtesy of Walter J R Barber.

Sunday, 7 May 2017

Essendon Baseball Club before the war

The pre-war Essendon Baseball Club, circa 1914.  In the front row are, second and third from the left Alick Swift and William Kennedy Park.  Alick enlisted in 1914 and fell at Gallipoli in 1915, never to return to his club.  If you can identify any other players, please let me know.  Some of the other men who played with this club are mentioned in a news article on the Time Travellers' webpage for the Essendon Baseball Club.

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

"Belmiers" and Violet Street, Essendon

This lovely snap shows the view from the front door of "Belmiers" looking north along Violet Street.  "Belmiers" was at 91 Buckley St, Essendon.  The house is still standing, but renumbered 155 Buckley Street.    Due to the generosity of Walter J R Barber of Warrnambool, we now have a number of photos of "Belmiers" and the two young men who left from this address to serve in the great war - Harold Snape and his brother Robert Snape.    We also have an addition to photos from the Essendon State School, this time from about 1901.

Tuesday, 4 April 2017

More on Edith Peard's education

We are fortunate in that the Peard/Williams family were careful preservers of family documents, and here we have some further evidence of Edith's education. These images have now been added to Edith's Peard's story on the Time Travellers website.

Herbert Williamson may also have inspired Edith's interest in geography and and flora. It could explain why Edith owned an Introductory Text-book Physical Geography, by David Page, published by William Blackwood and Sons, eleventh edition, 1883. Edith signed the preface page "Edith F. Peard Greta 8-7-84".

Blackwoods Class Books in Natural Science with the price of two shillings and sixpence embossed on the cover.
Edith seems to have acquired her copy for two shillings and fourpence.

Edith signed at dated her book at Greta on 8 July 1884.

In later years Edith may have been following the teaching of her botanically inclined teacher when she wrote out instructions for transplanting Erica, giving the Latin botanical name.

From the Williams Family collection.

Saturday, 25 March 2017

Edith Peard update

Edith Peard, a violin and piano teacher of Robb Street, Essendon, grew up in the north-east of Victoria. In search of the means by which Edith developed her musical abilities, I was able access recently a book called A History of Greta by Samuel Edward Ellis, whose family farm and post office were not far away from the Peard general store in Greta.  The following details have been extracted from Ellis's book, and the webpage about Edith's career has been duly updated.  You can see it on the Time Travellers website.

Part of the Parish Plan of Greta, included in A History of Greta, by S E Ellis, North Eastern Historical Society,
Kilmore. 1972. The Township of Hanson, the small dark area at the bottom of the plan later became the main Greta township.  The surveyed Township of Greta on the top left of the plan became known as Greta West.  The Kellys lived at Greta West, while the Peards lived at the new Greta.

A detail of the Greta Parish Plan above showing the original Township of Hanson in Section XIV. 
Samuel Edward Ellis, who wrote A History of Greta, was born in 1873 at Greta where his parents Thomas and Annie Ellis farmed and conducted the first Post Office.  Their farm can be seen on the first plan of Greta above,  to the south east of the township, just below Section IX. 

The first post office was at Mr Ellis' farm, about a mile and a half east of the township.  The mails were at first carried by horsemen to and from Oxley.  When the NE railway was completed in 1873 the mails were then taken to Glenrowan (Rowan's Gap).  In 1888 the post office was moved to the part of Greta called Hanson  Wm Peard had set up a store at this site on the Greta-Wangaratta road about ten years previously.  He sold his business to W Carmichael, who took over the post office. (Ellis, page 17)
 The centre of the parish of Greta kept shifting according to the activity in the parish and four areas were variously known as Greta.  The original surveyed township of Greta became Greta West, while the Township of Hanson became Greta.  There was also Hanson South and Greta South in the vicinity.   

The first school in the district was a board school at Hanson, which began in 1870.  A government school was established there in 1877.   When the Greta Post Office moved to Hanson to a site near the Hanson School in 1888, to avoid confusion the school was renamed Greta School, and the Greta School established in 1883 in the Greta Township, was named Greta West.

In 1882 a new Head Teacher arrived at the Greta School. Herbert Bennett Williamson had been born in Chiltern in 1860, so was 22 on taking up his post at Greta.   He had taken up his first post as a teacher in 1876 at the age of 16,  passing his matriculation examinations at the end of that year.  Samuel Ellis says of him:    
"Mr R C B McDonald was succeeded in 1882 by Mr H B Williamson - a fine teacher and an enthusiastic photographer  There were no short cuts in those days, no hand cameras or prepared reels of film.  The amateur had to expose his negative plates and develop them in a dark room as well as print and fix his photographs.  He was the first cyclist in the district and rode the iron tyred "boneshaker" as well as the tall "kangaroo" or "penny-farthing".  He was also a keen botanist, and at the time of his death was recognised throughout Australia as one of the leading botanists". (Ellis, p 18).

Greta School about 1880.  Samuel Ellis is arrowed at front left. The Peard children are probably all in this photo.
(Ellis, facing page 3).

It seems probable that it was Herbert Williamson who introduced Edith to the violin.  Edith was 13 when Williamson arrived at Greta.  "Mr Williamson, a lover of music as well of cycling and photography, was a teacher of the violin during his residence at Greta". (Ellis p 19.) 

In later years their daughter Kate Dawson, nee Peard, used to say that they knew the Kelly family in Greta, but had no time for them.  Kate Peard and Grace Kelly, a younger sister of Ned, were born in the same year, in 1866.  Peards arrived in Greta in about 1878, at which time the two  girls were aged about 12.  Did they cross paths at the Greta School?  There was no school at Greta West until 1883, so if the Kelly children did attend school, they would have had to walk or ride the four and a half miles to the Hanson/Greta township. Or did the Peards engage a governess to teach the children at home?

Monday, 20 February 2017

Moonee Ponds (West) State School added to the list

Moonee Ponds State School (now Moonee Ponds West) Prep 2 Grade 1918 has now been added to the list of school photos at the Time Travellers website.   If you can recognise anyone, don't forget to say!