|The coloured section shows James Watson's farm at The Springs, which now forms part of the Tullamarine Industrial Estate.|
There were two James Watsons in the vicinity of Keilor in the 1840s. The first was James Watson of Hunter and Watson, a pastoral partnrship which is well-known to Keilor historians. The other was another Scot who made some transactions under the name James Watson, but possibly because of confusion with his namesake, began using his full name of James Butler Watson. It was James Butler Watson who leased a 50 acre farm from JFLV Foster in 1842. In her new article "James Butler Watson: early resident of The Springs", Christine Laskowski gives the process by which she revealed the identity of this other James Watson.