Councillors for the new Borough of Flemington and Kensington met on 10 May 1882. John Rigby, licensee of the Newmarket Hotel, offered the use of his 'second house' as temporary municipal chambers. The Council appears in the Sands and McDougall directories in the above location on Racecourse Road, from 1882-1884, two doors removed from the Newmarket Hotel with a saddler in between. The Council remained there until removing to the New Hall further south Racecourse Road past the Doutta Galla Hotel. See Early Libraries in Essendon and Flemington, Part 3 for more and update of the Flemington and Kensington Free Library and Mechanics' Institute.